Attack on Titan’s Hajime Isayama Wins Noma Publishing Culture Award by Global Anime

AbraxasNovember 5, 2021

Kodansha announced on Thursday that it has awarded Attack on Titan manga creator Hajime Isayama in its third Noma Publishing Culture Awards. The award honors those who have made excellent contributions to publishing, particularly to “reinventing publishing.”

Isayama won the award due to the global impact of his Attack on Titan manga and its story. Attack on Titan‘s cumulative circulation exceeds 100 million copies.

Author Shizuka Ijūin (Kikansha Sensei) and musical duo YOASOBI (BEASTARS theme songs) also won awards.

Hajime Isayama launched the original Attack on Titan manga in Kodansha‘s Bessatsu Shōnen Magazine in 2009, and ended the series on April 9. The manga’s 34th and final volume shipped on June 9. Kodansha Comics is publishing the manga in English digitally and in print, and released the 34th volume on October 19.

The Attack on Titan The Final Season anime premiered on NHK in December 2020. Funimation and Crunchyroll are streaming the anime with English subtitles. Adult Swim‘s Toonami programming block began airing the anime in January. Funimation began streaming an English dub in January. Part 2 of the final season will premiere with episode 76, “Danzai” (“Sentencing”), on the NHK General channel on January 9, 2022 at 24:05 (effectively January 10 at 12:05 a.m.).

The first television anime season premiered in April 2013, and the second season premiered in April 2017. The first part of the third season premiered in July 2018, and the second half premiered in Japan on the NHK General channel in April 2019.

The manga has also inspired many spinoff manga and novels, several spinoff anime, video games, and a live-action film project.

Kodansha awarded Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba‘s manga creator Koyoharu Gotouge in its second Noma Publishing Culture Awards in 2020. Kodansha also gave the award to Nintendo‘s Animal Crossing: New Horizons game and novelist Jun Ikeido in the same year.

Kodansha‘s inaugural Noma Publishing Culture Award ceremony honored in 2019 anime film director Makoto Shinkai (your name., Weathering With You), manga publishers Ribon and Nakayoshi, acclaimed novelist Keigo Higashino, and magazine models Mai Shiraishi and Erika Ikuta, both of whom are members of the idol group Nogizaka46.

Source: Comic Natalie

Source link


Leave a comment

Name *
Add a display name
Email *
Your email address will not be published